Left or Right: Find balance

Oh-Be-Careful-Christian-Parent-1

You may be absolutely, unequivocally correct.

After all, they are your beliefs. You have every right to share them. And if people don’t like it, they can just unfriend you. I get it. I do.

I love conservatives and liberals. I have friends who have strong beliefs. I appreciate them. As I told a good friend recently, I value people with opinions – republican or democrat.

And you’re absolutely right. What I am about to say is just my opinion.

Some leaders like to throw gasoline on a fire to get attention just like the media is into sensationalism to increase ratings. In 2015 we saw influential Christians in the media taking stances on holiday cups, the rebel flag, the police, and refugees.

Apparently, the louder you yell on one end of the spectrum, the more “likes” you get. Well, guess what?

Good leaders are less concerned about collecting followers and more worried about creating leaders.

leaders

You know who those future leaders are?

Our children. Our students.

I am not catering to my conservative friends or siding with liberals. I frankly could care less about labels right now. What I care about is the message we are sending to our CHILDREN.

What are our actions telling them?

It pains me to think about the contradictions I see on social media lately.

So, let me get this straight. On Sunday morning we took our children to church to learn about respect for authority, right? They were taught:

Respect everyone, and love your Christian brothers and sisters. 1 Peter 2:17

Have confidence in your leaders and submit to their authority, because they keep watch over you as those who must give an account. Do this so that their work will be a joy, not a burden, for that would be of no benefit to you. Hebrews 13:17

Yet some of the same people who sat next to us in that pew bash the president non-stop, want the same police officers they need to protect them to pay, or complain about a red cup.

To top off a year in which social media has fueled the fire of the dialectic divide between conservatives and liberals, now we have Christian parents angry about helping widows and orphans?

Man, if I could only think of a timely story to illustrate my point.

You know? Like where a family from the Middle East region is looking for shelter where their baby would be safe. But they are turned away and have to stay in a barn.

Oh. Ouch.

Hey, I get it. I am afraid of immigrants flooding into our country and bringing a terrorist. But all Muslims are not terrorists and LOVE, not FEAR, should drive our actions. If you want more information, check out this article on what ISIS really wants. 

What are we teaching our children?

Yes, we need to care for our homeless vets. Yes, we need better vetting than the current plan, which looks something like:

IMG_0334

Come on liberal friends, that was funny. Admit it.

Listen, here’s the thing. Our children are forming their sense of integrity by the actions and words we use. So just be careful.

Please!

For the sake of our children. We want them to grow up with integrity.

A mentor of mine taught me a simple definition of integrity – Say what you mean; do what you say.

So by all means, have an opinion. But, if you’re angry – pause and pray before you post.

My little eyes
are watching
All you say and do
And when I grow up
big and tall
I want to be like you.

My little ears
are listening
To everything you say
I am learning how
to grow up
To be like you
someday.

So be careful how
you teach me
To be the person
that you are.
You’re a knight in
shining armor
You’re my brightest
shining star.

-Author Unknown

This entry was posted in Parenting with Purpose, Teaching that Transforms, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Left or Right: Find balance

  1. Nancy Seay says:

    Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

