Bedtime Stories of Faith

tell-me-a-story-thumb

When my children were younger I could count on hearing one phrase as we neared bedtime…

“Tell me a story about when you were my age.”

Our children loved to hear stories (even from our dinner guests), but especially at bedtime.

Sometimes I shared the funny stories, stories of hours playing outside with my siblings, and all the make believe I played. Other times I shared what I remembered as hard times at their age – a difficult teacher, not getting my way, getting blamed for something I didn’t do, and times when I had courage even though I was afraid.

I would sprinkle the story time with the tales (true, of course) of when I disobeyed, the time I stole lipstick (age 6), and the times when I knew what the right thing to do was, but chose not to do it.

With every story I tried to weave God’s truths in there…His faithfulness, great love, forgiveness, strength. We can and should read to our children about the lives of those in God’s Word…their courage to do what was right, face the giant, share what they knew about Jesus, willingness to follow, willingness to forgive.

Don’t forget that you have a great faith story to share through your own experiences and relationship with Jesus. Share with your children your bedtime stories of faith.

“Tell it to your children, and let your children tell it to their children, and their children to the next generation.” Joel 1:3

About Merissa Ramantanin

I am quietly growing as I get to know my Father, His son, through His spirit each day. Writing, teaching & speaking are a joy for me...teaching children (and adults) of an incredibly big God who loves them very much. My heart is on the mission field, wherever God has me. Currently, that is in the classroom and on the volleyball court!
This entry was posted in Parenting with Purpose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

